Something interesting happened after installing two yellow LED's in the clipping section of a distortion pedal recently. I burnt something out. This is probably a bad thing but I wanted to share the results with everyone.
The distortion when the LED clipping is selected has a lo-fi-amp about to explode-crappy fuzz characteristic to it. I think I like it!
Noobio
7/6/2012 01:01:14 am

Is there a way to disable/burnout a LED without touching it? I'm trying to disable a LED behind a case that I am unable to open, since it is molded in a particular way. This case has no screws and it doesn't open in any way. I also don't want to stick any tape in front of it.

Reply
Jeremy
7/6/2012 01:24:38 am

What kind of enclosure is it in? I can't imagine not being able to open a pedal.

Reply
Noobio
7/6/2012 07:07:41 am

The enclosure is some sort of box. There is no way to get inside it, except cutting it, then gluing it back somehow.

Reply
Noobio
7/6/2012 07:09:55 am

I'm not a tech wiz, but I thought maybe there is a way to burn that led using some sort of a powerful <insert term here> field.

Reply
5/15/2013 11:23:35 am

if you wanna smoke an led, simply attach the two terminals of a nine volt battery to it. one way it won't do anything. the other way you'll get a VERY bright glow that will turn some orangish color and then it will blink out. one blown led. ;) lol... that was a pretty cool sound man!

Reply
Jeremy Rouse
5/15/2013 11:30:08 am

I don't know why it sounds like that to be honest. It can't just be the LED.

Reply
8/7/2013 01:09:12 am

i bet they burned out and shorted instead of opened? or maybe if ya have enough gain, it bridges the gap? ya go me j!!

Reply
8/7/2013 01:10:04 am

errrrr... ya GOT me, i mean 8)

Reply



Leave a Reply.


Rousetech effect pedals and guitar pedal mods